“The Day Lady Died” By: Frank O’Hara

Image

I want to talk a little about the poem, “The Day Lady Died,” by Frank O’Hara. I just think this poem is so magnificent in its ability to bring us into an ordinary, seemingly unimportant and busy day in New York City, and then into a profound memory of the narrator’s mind.

“It is 12:20 in New York a Friday
three days after Bastille day, yes
it is 1959 and I go get a shoeshine
because I will get off the 4:19 in Easthampton
at 7:15 and then go straight to dinner
and I don’t know the people who will feed me
/
I walk up the muggy street beginning to sun
and have a hamburger and a malted and buy
an ugly NEW WORLD WRITING to see what the poets
in Ghana are doing these days
                                           I go on to the bank
and Miss Stillwagon (first name Linda I once heard)
doesn’t even look up my balance for once in her life
and in the GOLDEN GRIFFIN I get a little Verlaine
for Patsy with drawings by Bonnard although I do
think of Hesiod, trans. Richmond Lattimore or
Brendan Behan’s new play or Le Balcon or Les Nègres
of Genet, but I don’t, I stick with Verlaine
after practically going to sleep with quandariness
/
and for Mike I just stroll into the PARK LANE
Liquor Store and ask for a bottle of Strega and
then I go back where I came from to 6th Avenue
and the tobacconist in the Ziegfeld Theatre and
casually ask for a carton of Gauloises and a carton
of Picayunes, and a NEW YORK POST with her face on it
/
and I am sweating a lot by now and thinking of
leaning on the john door in the 5 SPOT
while she whispered a song along the keyboard
to Mal Waldron and everyone and I stopped breathing”

/

O’Hara was part of the New York School poetry movement, which was one of the last great Avant-garde movements in American poetry. And as I read this piece for the first time in Postmodern American Poetry, a Norton Anthology (which has an awesome cover by the way!) I was struck by how insignificant I felt the first four stanzas were (Initially of course). It’s not that I felt the tone seemed arrogant necessarily, but I just couldn’t relate to all of the names, and titles of plays and magazines. It seemed to represent an intellectual lifestyle, but in no way represented me as an average American reader. I couldn’t make an emotional connection.

Until we get to the last stanza of course, this wonderful and profound set of four lines,

The narrator walks past a magazine stand and sees Billie Holiday’s face- Lady Day has died.

“and I am sweating a lot by now and thinking of
leaning on the john door in the 5 SPOT
while she whispered a song along the keyboard
to Mal Waldron and everyone and I stopped breathing”

/

We are taken to this other time, a seemingly simple time, but juxtaposed with that raw emotional realization of death. I can see O’Hara there in a New York Jazz club, leaning against the bathroom- I feel the warmth of the scene, and of the drinks and of the people. But most importantly, Billie Holiday is there, alive, in this memory “while she whispered a song along the keyboard.”

“Everyone and I stopped breathing.”

That breathlessness; now who can’t relate, in some way, to the beauty and the warmth of this scene. It makes what occurred in the beginning four stanzas seem so unimportant (which also makes them perfectly written) because of this news- this news that makes the narrator remember-

a moment that is truly important.

I just think this poem is awesome, and I love Billie Holiday too!

(Sorry I had to add the “/” between stanzas, I couldn’t figure out how to get the spacing right.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “The Day Lady Died” By: Frank O’Hara

  1. Yes, a really great poem. It’s funny that the “postmodern” anthology felt the need to go back and claim this time period of American writers. Well, it’s not that funny, actually, but then again anthologies pretty much only exist to expose readers to poems–the titles of the anthologies change over time (I remember first reading O’Hara in an anthology called “Contemporary American Poetry”) but the best poems, and their effects, remain fresh. Like this one.

Leave a comment