Duke Ellington’s Single Petal of a Rose

So I just love the idea of writing to the sounds of music, and I remembered that a couple years back I wrote something for class that was created while listening Duke Ellington’s “Single Petal of a Rose.” It’s not the greatest thing I’ve ever written, but I just love the song, and the idea that music can create poetry, and poetry can create music.

So if you’re down, throw on this incredible song, and read this little poem!

Duke Ellington’s Single Petal of a Rose

she’s just a ghost

asleep in photographs

buried deep in dreams

and dresser drawers

and in the night we’ll pretend

darkness knows nothing

of morning

but please, don’t fall asleep

for when you rise

tomorrow will sigh

 

we’ve been forgotten

 

and you will be gone

and I, just a dream

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Music, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment